1(888)864-8135
Call Now! 1(888)864-8135

Read what people are saying
about Precision Garage Door

Precision Garage Door of Connecticut
has received 6 reviews, averaging 2.00 Stars:
Review:

I already submitted this same feedback directly to you on 7/21/17, in response to your emailed request for feedback. I also checked the box that said "please contact me immediately," but never got a call. It made me wonder if any of that feedback is read by anyone. If you ask for the feedback by email, you should read what people send back. If you offer a checkbox requesting immediate contact, you should provide immediate calls to those who check the box. Just some systems problems you should look into. But here's my concern: We were very pleased with the general "tune-up" performed for us on 9/13/16 ($288.95 - work order 3193073, work performed by Ron Lecours), which resulted in smoother and quieter operation, especially with the middle of our three doors, which gets the most use. We had never had the doors serviced, and we've been in the house since summer '07. You returned just under 3 months later (12/7/16) to repair a snapped torsion spring and both torsion lift cables (middle door - work order 3292207, work performed by Rolando Chaparro). The center bearing plate with bearing was replaced. This charge was $485.85 and included a 2-year warranty on parts and labor and a 1-year service fee. You returned on 7/19/17 (middle door again - work order 3656154, work performed by Dave Lanz) because the cable had come out of it's casing and was wrapping itself around the operator rail as the door was raising/lowering. Mr. Lanz, a lovely guy to deal with, reported the operator rail needed to be remounted because it had been shaking too much while the operator was in use, causing the problem. He needed to ask me if he could use one of the 2x8 boards in my garage to fashion a fix for this, which was fine. I was charged $409.00 for this, which included the residential service fee, 2 hours labor. No parts were replaced. Unfortunately, I could not tell this at the time Dave left, but there is a small gap now between the bottom of the garage door and the concrete. Enough for mice to crawl through, and we have unfortunately had (prior to this, not because of this) terrible mouse problems and car damage from them in the winters. We must have that gap eliminated. Although Dave said there was no problem with the 12/7 install of the center bearing plate, it seems something was not done properly, eventually causing the problem that needed to be fixed on 7/19. With a 2-year warranty on the labor that was performed on 12/7, shouldn't the 7/19 repair have been covered? And what exactly is a 1-year service fee? You can reach me to discuss at 860-970-5061. I would very much like to understand all of this better. I would love to give you an excellent review and spread your name to my Nextdoor.com network; but at this time, I can't do that. Thank you.
Sarah Calatayud
A Response from: Walt Arvin

We are sorry that this review fell through the cracks. I believe we have resolved all issues at your 8/7/17 appointment and hope you are happy. If not, please call us and we will be happy to come on a warranty call (no service fee charge) and resolve the issue. A 1-year service fee, is once you paid a service fee (which was part of a repair for which you agreed to our recommendations, we do not charge a service fee for any related issues for 1 year).

Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Review:

Not a good experience. The quote was extremely high. Called to cancel order twice but technician still came to the house. When told we reconsidered and that we called twice to cancel he was not surprised. Then asked for payment of a $99 service call charge which we did not know about- were told it was on the robo call before you set appointment - that is garbage as no dollar amount is said- needless to say we are using someone else
Joe Ditunno
A Response from: Walt Arvin

We are very sorry that you feel that we didn't communicate the service fee to you. We did go back and listen to the call and the customer service representative did mention the service fee twice and you gave the impression that you understood it. We did also check our phone log and could only find the one call to set up the appointment.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Install
Review:

I am not satisfied at all. The springs were replaced no problem. Part of the srevice was to adjust the two doors so they open and close smoothly. The tech has been here twice and they still don't close right. I have to call back again to have him come back and maybe they can finally be adjusted properly. The tech seems to be in big hurry when he comes. I hope maybe your input will help. At this point I would NOT recommend your company.
Frank Barre
A Response from: Walt Arvin

We are very sorry that you are not satisfied with the service we provided. Part of the original service included a safety review of your door. Aside from the springs we replaced, we recommended that we replace all three of your bearing and the shaft (the latter being bent). You decided to just replace the springs. Unfortunately, the other parts was causing problems that we didn't address as you do not want us to. Lastly, the last visit we had to adjust your opener's travel limits (we never did any work to your opener). The one thing that is missing from your review is that we didn't charge you for either of the follow up visits despite the issues not being related to the work we performed.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

I was given a time slot of 1-3 for my service request, was disappointed when after I called was told that the service technician would be running late. The service technician did come over sometime after 4 o'clock. Cream on top was that when I asked for some help with the service charge seeing as the experience was poor - I was still charged $50 for a technician essentially telling there was nothing they could do.
Tim Munsie
A Response from: Walt Arvin

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry that we were unable to keep our promised service time frame. Our technicians try their best to keep to their schedule, but some jobs take longer than expected. I am sorry that the office or the technician did not call you to inform you of the delay. Our normal service charge is $79, so we did reduce the rate by $29 (or a 37% reduction).

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Review:

Very dissatisfied with service. Our technician obviously did not want to be there. He did fix the door, but it still doesn't sound right. I'm not sure this is the service I was promised. Would like you to resolve the problem.
Bob A
A Response from: Walt Arvin

Thank you very much for your review. We take all reviews seriously, especially the negative ones. We have spoken to the technician and he is well aware of our service standards and is sorry for not living up to your expectations. We have scheduled another technician to come out to rework your door. I hope your experience is better the second time around. We apologize for not living up to our standards and will strive to do better.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Review:

Very disappoited. Jim was late and rude. It was obvious that he was having a bad day, but it wasn't our fault. I hope your other techs are in better spirits.
Tom S
A Response from: Walt Arvin

As I mentioned on the phone; I am very sorry for your unpleasant experience. I spoke to Jim and he is very sorry. He had a very difficult job prior to yours. He wishes he could have a "do over" but I explained to him that isn't very likely as your first experience was negative. Again we greatly apologize.

Service Provided:
Install Garage Doors