1(888)864-8135
Call Now! 1(888)864-8135

Read what people are saying
about Precision Garage Door

Precision Garage Door of Connecticut
has received 10 reviews, averaging 3.01 Stars:
Review:

I was sold a bill of goods that was nothing more than springs and new rollers for $600. Very good sales person but felt ripped off for parts that cost no more than $80.
William Emmons
A Response from: Walt Arvin

I am very sorry you feel you were over charged. However, your statement regarding what you received is not accurate. We did a complete overhaul of your door. This service included replacing all the vital parts that make your door operate safely and effortlessly. The parts we replaced included the springs, lift cables, safety cables, rollers, and cast iron pulleys. Your door is now better than new -- that's why we provide a 5 year warranty (which is anywhere from 5 to 2-1/2 times longer than the warranty you get from most new doors. To be fair, your estimated price was for Home Depot quality parts -- which come with a 90-day warranty. The parts in way are comparable. Again I am sorry you feel that the price was high. Please be comforted in knowing that you have a safe, well functioning door that will give you peace of mind for years and years.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Product:
Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Review:

arrived on time. He "fixed" garage door remote. One hour after he left, $139. later, it does not work.
James Grosso
A Response from: Walt Arvin

As the technician explained. Once you're looking at the electronics of an opener It's not exactly a science to troubleshooting. There simply are multiple potential causes for things like your remote not working. We typically try the least expensive route first -- while always recommending other avenue to pursue. We try very hard to solve customer issues the first time out, but sometimes it does take two trips. Like our voicemail said, we are more than willing to comeback out and continue troubleshooting your issue and would not charge another service call. We are sorry you feel you didn't have a good experience with us.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Review:

When I called to make the appointment, a woman told me the cost would be $99 for them to come out to our house, plus parts & labor. The technician Paul stopped by and did a really good job. He replaced both springs in approximately 30 minutes and the door is working great now. Paul told us before he started that our price would be $329. We thought it sounded high but went through with it anyway because he was already at our house and we needed the door fixed. We think the price was too high and that the woman on the phone is misleading with what she says it will cost. If it was $99 for them to come to our house and most of the door springs I see online cost between $20 - $60 for the set, that would mean the labor charge was $170 for a half hour. That will keep us from using them again.
Pete Suits
A Response from: Walt Arvin

We are sorry that you feel our prices are too high. We do know that Home Depot and Lowe's sell garage door spring for very low prices. The springs the big box stores are no better that contractor grade parts. They are designed to last 9,000 cycles and come with a 90-day warranty. Our springs are designed to last at least 30,000 cycles and are warrantied 1-year up to 5-years depending on the condition of the rest of the parts on your door. To compare the quality parts we use to those found at Home Depot or Lowe's just isn't fair -- apples vs. oranges. Also your price comparison doesn't include taxes, transportation and your time. Those all add up and when combined with the superior warranty, our knowledgeable staff and the customer support you get from Precision Door its a great value.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs
Review:

I chose Precision because you had installed my garage doors. The process of scheduling the maintenance was rediculous. Twice I set up service to have the track of my garage door adjusted. The Precision technician failed to show both times. Brian the tech, who is excellent, called me on the third day and came and fixed the door.
Tim Scanlan
A Response from: Walt Arvin

We do apologize for your frustration. The technician that failed to show up to your home has been let go. Unfortunately he failed to show up to several other customers homes when scheduled. Luckily our other technicians feel a responsibility to our customers. That's why Brian picked up the phone and took care of you. Again sorry for the inconvenience and frustration.

Brian Fisher Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Technician:
Review:

The service was excellent. The technician was on time, very polite and did a great job. However, I was initially charged $479 to replace two torsion springs, and the job took at most one hour. The service call costs $99 and isn't waved if the work is done and labor is $80/hour. Based on google searches a typical charge for a job like this should have been about $300. When I called the manager was very nice and knocked off $30 plus she said the technician made a mistake and wrote that the warranty is one year when it should be five. My only disappointment was the cost. At $449 less one hour of labor I effectively paid $369 for two springs which go for about $42/each at home depot and come with a one year warranty. That's quite a mark up on parts.
Robert Kubarych
A Response from: Walt Arvin

Thank you for your business and thank you for this review. We do try to price competitively, however, we will never be as cheap as Home Depot. In fact my cost for the springs we use are more than what I could buy them at Home Depot. The reason is simple... Home Depot buys and sells the cheapest springs they can find. The fact that we can warranty our springs for 5 times as long as Home Depot should be a sign as to the quality of our parts. Something else you haven't factored into your equation is the cost of shipping and taxes (that you would have had to pay Home Depot)... remember we brought the parts to you!

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Review:

Service technician was very knowledgeable and pleasant to work with. The estimate was not very well communicated over the phone before the technician came to the house. Also person on the phone did not make us aware that there was a discount for cash payment.
Mark Aprea
A Response from: Walt Arvin

I apologize if you felt the we didn't communicated well on the phone. It is impossible for somebody to diagnosis your garage door issue over the phone. Our customer service staff is the best trained and many have over 10 years of experience, but they can only listen to your description of the problem and then give you ideas of what to look for. That's why they are really explaining our process that the technician will go through when at your house. This way you will feel confident that we've really taken the time to properly assess your door and give you options designed to fix the door to the level you want.

Brian Fisher Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs
Technician:
Review:

Did not see advertising. Called you because you were out in December was hoping that the work in December would have been gaur rented but it was not and had to pay again for the same problem 10 weeks later
Geoff Graham
A Response from: Walt Arvin

Thank you for your comments and business. Our records indicate that the first time we came out to your house you had an issue with your safety eyes -- they were not aligned and as a result the door would not close properly. We also suggested other work as your pulleys were starting to split and was grabbing the cables -- causing the door to not close properly. The second time we came out the door was having issues due to the pulleys. We fixed that issue.

Brian Fisher Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Technician:
Review:

Pricey but the service was good both on the phone and by the tech.
Joe Lostowski
A Response from: Walt Arvin

Your springs were rather large (for your large heavy door). We did provide 4 times the average repair warranty as well.

Ron Lecours Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Technician:
Review:

James was late but called to let us know ahead of time. He performed a thorough inspection and suggested a "rebuild." We only had the cables and springs replaced. Job was completed quickly and with little to no mess. Three stars is a good rating as suggests I got what I expected - value for price. Nothing more nothing less. I would recommend Precision Door to others.
Oden K
Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

Technician showed up late and was very dirty. Matching his apperance, he left the garage a mess. The door works fine, but I expected more out of your company. Would not use you again.
C Smithfield
A Response from: Walt Arvin

I am extremely dissappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. We do take great pride in making sure that all of our customers have a pleasant (if not exceptional) experience with our company. We have spoken to the technician and believe that he understands what we (and our customers) expect. If you have any issues with yhe work we have done, please call us and we will make it right.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair